Call for Papers & Participation
4th International Workshop on


May 27, 2002
Toronto, Ontario, Canada

in conjunction with the
14th Conference on Advanced Information Systems Engineering CAiSE'02
May 27-31, 2002

Data Warehousing embraces technology and industrial practice to systematically integrate data from multiple distributed data sources and to use that data in annotated and aggregated form to support business decision-making and enterprise management. Although many database techniques have been revisited or newly developed in the context of data warehouses, such as view maintenance and OLAP, little attention has been paid to the design and management of data warehouses to appropriately serve their purposes, i.e., to support the management of a given enterprise. This workshop is intended as a forum to fill this gap. DMDW started as a CAiSE worhshop in Heidelberg, 1999. Since then, the workshop has taken place on an annual basis with a big success, with special journal issues publishing best papers from past editions of DMDW. As in earlier DMDW workshops, we invite research papers covering all aspects of data warehouse design and management over its lifecycle. Equally welcome are papers from the industry reporting on data warehouse toolkits and experiences from data warehouse implementation projects. The workshop will continue to promote a culture of vivid discussions.

We cordially invite researchers to submit original research papers to the 4th DMDW Workshop, and practitioners of the DW application industry to submit experience papers. Here is a non-exclusive list of


Research Track
Experience Track


Research papers of up to a 5000 words (which works out to a MAXIMUM of 10 double spaced 12 point font single column pages) and experience papers of up to 2500 words (MAXIMUM 5 pages of double spaced 12 point font single column pages) should be submitted in electronic form (Standard Postscript or PDF) via Email to

by the submission deadline (see below). NO OTHER FORMS OR FORMATS OF SUBMISSION ARE ACCEPTABLE. Authors are solely responsible for making sure their submissions print/view properly. More information about the workshop is available at:

For further questions, please contact either the program chair or one of the organizing committee members (coordinates below). The workshop proceedings will most likely be published by the University of Toronto Press. Proceedings of previous DMDW editions can be found at:

As in the past, we expect that selected papers from the workshop will be published, possibly in conjunction with selected papers from the DOLAP Workshop, in a special issue of a leading international journal.


March 29, 2002: Submission of papers
May 6, 2002   : Notification of acceptance
May 13, 2002  : Camera Ready versions due
May 27, 2002  : Workshop date


Dimitri Theodoratos (NJIT, NJ)           
Joachim Hammer (Univ. of Florida, FL)    
Manfred Jeusfeld (Tilburg Univ., The Netherlands)
Martin Staudt (Swiss Life, Switzerland)  
Il-Yeol Song  (Drexel Univ., PA)         


Curtis Dyreson                  (Washington State Univ., USA)
Jarek Gryz                      (Univ. of William and Mary, USA)
Himanshu Gupta                  (Univ. of Chicago, USA)
Joachim Hammer                  (Univ. of Florida, USA)
Bala Iyer                       (IBM Silicon Valley, USA)
H.V. Jagadish                   (Univ. of Michigan, USA)
Matthias Jarke                  (RWTH Aachen, Germany)
Manfred Jeusfeld                (Tilburg University, The Netherlands)
Kamalakar Karlapalem            (International Inst. of Info. Technology, India)
Laks V.S. Lakshmanan            (Univ. of British Columbia, Canada)
                                [Program Chair:]
Maurizio Lenzerini              (University of Rome, "La Sapienza", Italy)
Alberto Mendelzon               (Univ. of Toronto, Canada)
Torben Bach Pedersen            (Aalborg Univ., Denmark)
Jian Pei                        (Simon Frase Univ., Canada)
Louiqa Raschid                  (Univ. of Maryland, USA)
Fereidoon Sadri                 (UNCG, USA)
Timos Sellis                    (National Tech. Univ. of Athens, Greece)
Il-Yeol Song                    (Drexel Univ., USA)
Divesh Srivastava               (AT&T Labs - Research, USA)
Martin Staudt                   (Swiss Life, Switzerland)
Dimitri Theodoratos             (NJIT, USA)
Riccardo Torlone                (Roma Tre University, Italy)
Gottfried Vossen                (Univ. of Muenster, Germany)
Carlo Zaniolo                   (UCLA, USA)