First Call for Papers & Participation


2nd International Workshop in conjunction with the
12th Conference on Advanced Information Systems Engineering CAiSE*00
June 5-6, 2000, Stockholm, Sweden


Data Warehousing embraces technology and industrial practice to systematically collect data from an enterprise and to use that data in annotated and aggregated form for managing the enterprise based on business decisions. Although many database techniques have been revisited or newly developed in the context of data warehouses, including view maintenance and applications such as OLAP and data mining, little attention has been paid to the design and management of data warehouses to appropriately serve their purposes, i.e., to support the management of a given enterprise. This workshop is intended as a forum to fill this gap. It will be the second in a series of workshops that started at CAiSE'99 in Heidelberg, Germany. The first workshop at CAiSE'99 was very successful and attracted participants both from industry and the research community.

We cordially invite participants both from the application industry and research to submit papers to the second workshop. An incomplete list of research and experience topics to be discussed at the workshop is given below. We especially encourage experts of the DW application industry to submit experience papers.

Research Topics

Experience Topics

Submission Instructions

Papers up to a maximum of 5000 words (experience papers up to 2500 words) should be submitted to in electronic form (Standard Postscript or PDF) via Email to Martin Staudt, Swiss Life, IS Research, PO Box, CH-8022 Zurich, Switzerland
by the submission deadline (see below). More information about the workshop is available via

The workshop proceedings will be published in the Swiss Life IS Research Technical Report Series and included in the electronical CEUR Workshop Proceedings

Important Dates

April 3, 2000: Submission of papers
May 5, 2000: Notification of acceptance

Program and Organization Committee (pending)

Mokrane Bouzeghoub (Universite de Versailles)
Latha Colby (Informix)
Stella Gatziu (University of Zurich)
Joachim Hammer (University of Florida)
Matthias Jarke (RWTH Aachen)
Manfred Jeusfeld* (Tilburg University)
K. Karlapalem (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)
Hans-Jürgen Lenz (Free University of Berlin)
W. Lehner (University of Erlangen)
Maurizio Lenzerini (University of Rome I)
Qing Li (City University of Hong Kong)
Tore Risch (University of Uppsala)
Nick Roussopoulos (University of Maryland)
Hua Shu* (Karlstad University)
Eric Simon (INRIA Rocquencourt)
Il-Yeol Song (Drexel University)
Nicolas Spyratos (Universite Paris XI)
Martin Staudt* (Swiss Life)
Dimitri Theodoratos (NTUA Athens)
Gottfried Vossen* (University of Muenster)

*) organization commitee


Last update: 9-Dec-1999