## **Preface**

The 2<sup>nd</sup> International Workshop on Non-functional System Properties in Domain Specific Modeling Languages (NFPinDSML2009), organized as a satellite event of the 12th International Conference on Model Driven Engineering Languages and Systems (MODELS2009) is a follower of a very successful 1st International Workshop on Non-functional System Properties in Domain Specific Languages (NFPinDSML2008), affiliated with MODELS2008 Conference. The intention of this workshop series is to discuss and build the common principles of engineering Domain Specific Modeling Languages (DSML) - domain-oriented modeling languages developed for specifying solutions to specific classes of problems related to a particular domain – and methods for addressing non-functional system properties (e.g. availability, reliability, security, performance, timeliness, efficiency...) during software design. At the present moment, the study of engineering DSMLs and analysis of non-functional properties are research topics of different communities. In order to build the common principles and expand the reasoning about non-functional system properties in engineering DSMLs and in Model Driven Engineering in general joint efforts of these communities is necessary.

The 1<sup>st</sup> issue of this workshop (NFPinDSML2008) created a forum of researchers discussing this interesting and important research area, and identified some major research questions. The NFPinDSML2009 discusses two of these research questions: multi dimensional analysis, and commonalities and differences in DSMLs observed from the perspective of different NFP estimation and evaluation.

We would like to thank all members of the PC for contributing to this workshop by making their reviews and providing a very useful comments to the authors. We would like to particularly thank to the authors for submitting their contributions and making this event possible.

The Workshop Organizers and Proceedings Editors:

Marko Bošković Dragan Gašević Claus Pahl Bernhard Schätz

## **Organizers**

Marko Bošković, Athabasca University Canada Dragan Gašević, Athabasca University Canada Claus Pahl, Dublin City University, Ireland Bernhard Schätz, Technische Universität München, Germany

## **Program Committee**

**Guglielmo De Angelis**, Istituto di Scienza e Tecnologie dell'Informazione "Alessandro Faedo", Italy

Vittorio Cortellessa, University dell'Aquila, Italy

Michel Chaudron, Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands

Joerg Doerr, IESE Franhofer, Germany

Sébastien Demathieu, Thales Research and Technology, France

Huascar Espinoza, CEA LIST/LISE, France

Geri Georg, Colorado State University, USA

Sébastien Gérard, CEA, France

Annirudha Gokhale, Vanderbilt University, USA

Wilhelm Hasselbring, University of Kiel, Germany

Michaela Huhn, Braunschweig University of Technology, Germany

Hardi Hungar, Offis Institute Oldenburg, Germany

Jan Jürjens, Open University (UK) and Microsoft Research (Cambridge), UK

Raimund Kirner, Vienna University of Technology, Austria

Richard Paige, University of York, UK

Dorina Petriu, Charleton University, Ottawa, Canada

Ivan Porres, Åbo Akademi University, Finland

Jun Suzuki, University of Massachusetts, Boston, USA

Mario Trapp, Fraunhofer IESE, Kaiserslautern, Germany

Juha-Pekka Tolvanen, MetaCase, Finland

Antonio Vallecillo, University of Malaga, Spain

Eelco Visser, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

**Steffen Zschaler**, Lancaster University, UK

Andreas Winter, University Koblenz, Germany