Perspectives on the **Evaluation of Recommender Systems Workshop 2021**

Preface

This volume of CEUR-WS proceedings includes papers of the Perspectives on the Evaluation of Recommender Systems Workshop 2021. The workshop is co-located with the ACM Recommender Systems Conference 2021 in Amsterdam, The Netherlands.

The goal of the workshop was to capture the current state of evaluation and gauge whether there is—or should be—a different target that recommender systems evaluation should strive for. The workshop primarily addressed the question: "Where should we go from here as a community?" and aimed at coming up with concrete steps for action.

We received 17 paper contributions and one abstract submission for the workshop. Each paper contribution received three reviews. We selected 12 papers for publication which will also be presented during the workshop. Furthermore, we accepted one abstract submission to be presented at the workshop.

We would like to thank the members of the program committee for their valuable reviews and suggestions. We also thank the authors for their submissions and contributions to the workshop.

September, 2021

Eva Zangerle Christine Bauer Alan Said

Program Committee

Vito Walter Anelli (Politecnico di Bari, Italy)

Alejandro Bellogin (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain)

Toine Bogers (Aalborg University Copenhagen, Denmark)

Amra Delić (TU Wien, Austria)

Linus W. Dietz (Technical University of Munich, Germany)

Michael D. Ekstrand (Boise State University, USA)

Mehdi Elahi (University of Bergen, Norway)

Maurizio Ferrari Dacrema (Politecnico di Milano, Italy)

Andrés Ferraro (Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Spain)

Hanna Hauptmann (Utrecht University, The Netherlands)

Dietmar Jannach (AAU Klagenfurt, Austria)

Mesut Kaya (Aalborg University Copenhagen, Denmark)

Jaehun Kim (Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands)

Bart Knijnenburg (Clemson University, USA)

Pigi Kouki (Relational AI, USA)

Dominik Kowald (Know-Center Graz, Austria)

Sandy Maniolos (Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands)

Ashlee Milton (Boise State University, USA)

Maria Soledad Pera (Boise State University, USA)

Jessie Smith (University of Colorado, Boulder, USA)

Marko Tkalčič (University of Primorska, Slovenia)

Martijn C. Willemsen (Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands)

Markus Zanker (Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy)